This is the "Home" page of the "Civil War Research Project -- Grade 7 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil War Research Project -- Grade 7  

A guide on how to use the resources of the library
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2017 URL: http://gcschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=344412 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

History in Print

Cover Art
Battle of Gettysburg - Bruce Catton
Call Number: 973.7 AME
ISBN: 0816715173
Publication Date: 1988-12-01
A detailed narrative of the battle that was the turning point of the Civil War. Written by an eminent historian, this book is beautifully illustrated with drawings and heartbreaking photographs.

Cover Art
Behind the Blue and Gray - Delia Ray
Call Number: 973.7 RAY
ISBN: 9780140383041
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
The story of the Civil War as seen from the perspective of the common soldier. Excellent information on medical care, prisoner of war camps, Native American volunteers, all-black regiments, and foreign-born soldiers.

Cover Art
Behind the Lines - Carter Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 793.7 BEH
ISBN: 1562942654
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
A collection of original visual documents preserved in the Library of Congress collection of life behind the lines during the Civil War. Each document is accompanied by an explanatory text.

Cover Art
Between Two Fires - Joyce Hansen
Call Number: 973.74 HAN
ISBN: 9780531111512
Publication Date: 1993-04-01
Documents the recruitment, training, and struggles of African American soldiers during the Civil War and examines the campaigns in which they participated.

Cover Art
The Civil War - Geoffrey C. Ward; Ric Burns; Ken Burns
Call Number: 973.7 WAR
ISBN: 0394562852
Publication Date: 1990-09-05
The companion volume to Ken Burns’ PBS series, this narrative of the war and the events that led up to it is beautifully illustrated with photographs, maps, and art of the time. It includes a clear narrative text and informative essays by prominent Civil War historians such as Barbara J. Fields, Shelby Foote, and C. Vann Woodward.

Cover Art
Civil War Artist - Taylor Morrison (Illustrator)
Call Number: 070.4 MOR
ISBN: 0395914264
Publication Date: 1999-04-26
Since early photographs could not capture movement or be printed in newspapers, it was left to sketch artists to record Civil War battle scenes. The author carefully follows the four week journey of a battlefield drawing from the artist’s pad to the newspaper office and once there through a multistep process to the printed page.

Cover Art
Commander in Chief - Albert Marrin
Call Number: 973.7 MAR
ISBN: 9780525470694
Publication Date: 2003-01-06
This examination of Lincoln and his times shows how a principled but imperfect man grew under the pressure of personal tragedy and national crisis to become a great president.

Cover Art
Fields of Fury - James M. McPherson
Call Number: 973.7 MCP
ISBN: 0689848331
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Written for younger readers by an eminent Civil War historian, this book examines the events and effects of the American Civil War. The narrative is illuminated by personal anecdotes from the soldiers at the battlefield, photographs by Matthew Brady and a helpful timeline.

Cover Art
The Day Fort Sumter Was Fired On - Jim Haskins
Call Number: 973.7 HAS
ISBN: 0590463977
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
Documented with powerful photographs, this book traces the course of the Civil War—from Bull Run to Lee’s eventual surrender at Appomattox including important battles, politics of the times, and the war’s effects on civilians.

Cover Art
The First Battles - Carter Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 793.7 FIR
ISBN: 156294262X
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
Uses a variety of contemporary materials to describe and illustrate the early battles of the Civil War from the firing at Fort Sumter in 1861 to the conflict at Fredericksburg at the end of 1862.

Cover Art
Ironclads of the Civil War: American Heritage Junior Library - Frank R. Donovan
Call Number: 973.7 AME
The famous battle between the Monitor and the Merrimac introduces the age of the Ironclad which lasted for 80 years. This book is illustrated with paintings, drawings, engravings, and photographs of the period.

Cover Art
Lincoln - Milton Melzer (Editor); Stephen Alcorn (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.7 LIN
ISBN: 0152454373
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Respected historian Milton Meltzer has compiled a moving collection of our sixteenth president’s speeches, letters, and writing. Meltzer gives the context for each extensive quote and gives a list of sources at the end of the book. There is a helpful chronology of “Lincoln and the World Around Him” at the end of the text.

Cover Art
Prelude to War - Carter Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 793.7 PRE
ISBN: 1562942611
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
A collection of original visual documents preserved in the Library of Congress collection of those events that led up to the Civil War. Each document is accompanied by an explanatory text.

Cover Art
Presidents of a Divided Nation - Carter Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 793.8 SMI
ISBN: 156294360X
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Uses a variety of contemporary materials to describe ant illustrate the political and personal lives of the United States presidents from Abraham Lincoln to Ulysses S. Grant. There is a timeline of major events (1861-1878) divided into two parts. One follows THE PRESIDENCY while the other chronicles THE AMERICAN SCENE.

Cover Art
Secrets of a Civil War Submarine - Sally M. Walker
Call Number: 973.7 WAL
ISBN: 1575058308
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
When the Union blockade of all ports in the South stopped supplies from reaching the Confederate army, Horace L. Hundley decided to create a submarine that would be able to sneak up on enemy ships and blow them up.

Cover Art
A Separate Battle - Ina Chang
Call Number: 973.7 CHA
ISBN: 0525673652
Publication Date: 1991-10-01
The author weaves together vivid stories of slave women, abolitionists, women’s rights leaders, northern teachers, and southern refugees. She follows some famous women: Clara Barton, Harriet Tubman, and Louisa May Alcott while she shows how ordinary women influenced the course of the Civil War and changed their lives in the process.

Cover Art
Till Victory Is Won - Zak Mettger
Call Number: 973.7 MET
ISBN: 9780525674122
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Filling in the blanks left by many other books on the Civil War, this records the history of black soldiers in the conflict and their struggle for equal treatment in the army and beyond.

Cover Art
Voices from the Civil War - Milton Meltzer
Call Number: 793.7 MEL
ISBN: 0690048009
Publication Date: 1989-11-01
This book includes primary source documents written by a great variety of persons and accompanied by a explanation by the author.

Cover Art
War, Terrible War (1860-1865) - Joy Hakim
Call Number: 973.7 HAK
ISBN: 0195127617
Publication Date: 1999-08-05
Describes the American Civil War, focusing on its causes, events, and consequences. This book includes considerable detail and is copiously illustrated. There is a short section at the end on songs of the Civil War.

Cover Art
When Johnny Went Marching Home - G. Clifton Wisler
Call Number: 973.7 WIS
ISBN: 0688165370
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
The stories of forty-nine young people who took part in the war: soldiers, spies, drummers, buglers, and a future president.

 

Biographies

Cover Art
Abraham Lincoln - Roger A. Bruns; Arthur M. Schlesinger (Introduction by)
Call Number: B LINCOLN
ISBN: 9780877545972
Publication Date: 1986-06-01
America’s sixteenth president who rose to power in the country’s greatest hour of need and whose vision saw the United States through the war.

Cover Art
Civil War Doctor: the Story of Mary Walker - Carla Joinson
Call Number: B WALKER
ISBN: 9781599350288
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Mary Walker became a medical doctor in an age when women were not expected to pursue an education or professional careers. Denied a commission as an army surgeon, she volunteered her services, caring for the sick and wounded and winning the Medal of Honor in 1865.

Cover Art
Civil War Nurse, Mary Ann Bickerdyke - Adele De Leeuw
Call Number: B BICKERDYKE
ISBN: 0671326171
Publication Date: 1973-01-01

Cover Art
Frank Thompson - Bryna Stevens
Call Number: B EDMONDS
ISBN: 9780027881851
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Emma Edmondson, a young Canadian woman, disguised herself as a man to avoid an unwanted marriage and distinguished herself during the Civil War by masquerading as a male nurse and spy for the Union Army.

Cover Art
Lincoln - Russell Freedman
Call Number: B LINCOLN
ISBN: 9780395518489
Publication Date: 1989-09-25
A description of the boyhood, marriage, young professional life, and presidential years of our greatest president.

Cover Art
On the Altar of Freedom - James H. Gooding; Virginia M. Adams (Editor); James M. McPherson (Foreword by)
Call Number: B GOODING
ISBN: 9781558492028
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Here is a vivid, unforgettable portrait of the Civil War as seen through the eloquent letters written by a black soldier in the renowned Massachusetts 54th Regiment.

Cover Art
Ulysses S. Grant - Zachary Kent
Call Number: B GRANT
ISBN: 0516013645
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
A fairly detailed biography of this important figure.

Cover Art
Ulysses S. Grant - Arthur M. Schlesinger (Editor); Tim O'Shei
Call Number: B GRANT
ISBN: 9780791061398
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
A concise narrative of the life of the Union’s most important general.

Cover Art
Virginia's General - Albert Marrin
Call Number: B LEE
ISBN: 9780689318382
Publication Date: 1994-11-01
An in-depth study of Confederate general Robert E. Lee discussing his West Point education, military career, campaigns, and personal life and beliefs.

Cover Art
Wild Rose - Ann Blackman
Call Number: B GREENOW
ISBN: 9780812970456
Publication Date: 2006-05-23
A grand dame of antebellum Washington, Rose O'Neale Greenhow was a Confederate spy whose adventurous and eventful life ended in an 1864 shipwreck on her return from a European diplomatic mission as Jefferson Davis' emissary.

Cover Art
Walt Whitman: Words for America - Barbara Kerley
Call Number: B WHITMAN
ISBN: ASIN: B000VTF5DW
This brief biography of one of America’s most famous poets focuses on his work as a Civil War nurse. Whitman is the author of the most memorized poem about Lincoln, “O Captain! My Captain!” as well as many other poems on Civil War themes. The text of several of these poems is given in the back of this book.

 

Fiction

Cover Art
Across Five Aprils - Irene Hunt
Call Number: FIC HUN
ISBN: 9780425182789
Publication Date: 2002-01-08
Jethro is a young farm boy in Illinois when the Civil War erupts. As he and his family confront the terror of war, he takes on huge responsibilities and becomes a wise and compassionate young man.

Cover Art
Bull Run - Paul Fleischman; David Frampton (Illustrator)
Call Number: FIC FLE
ISBN: 9780064405881
Publication Date: 1995-03-31
Through the alternating viewpoints of 16 characters from various walks of life, readers gain insight into the first battle of the Civil War and into the nature of war in general.

Cover Art
Charley Skedaddle - Patricia Beatty
Call Number: FIC BEA
ISBN: 9780833526724
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Young Yankee deserter, Charley Quinn, learns that his flight from his first battle doesn’t brand him as a life-long coward.

Cover Art
Iron Thunder - Avi
Call Number: FIC AVI
ISBN: 1423105184
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
After his father’s death in 1862, 13-year-old Tom Carroll finds a job at the Brooklyn Navy Yard where he is put to work on the ironclad that will become the Monitor.

Cover Art
The Killer Angels - Michael Shaara
Call Number: PB FIC SHA
ISBN: 9780345407276
Publication Date: 1996-05-28
In the four most bloody and courageous days of our nation’s history, two armies fought for two conflicting dreams at the Battle of Gettysburg.

Cover Art
Moon over Tennessee - Craig Crist-Evans; Bonnie Christensen (Illustrator)
Call Number: FIC CRI
ISBN: 9780395912089
Publication Date: 1999-03-26
In the spring of 1863, a thirteen-year-old boy leaves his home in northeastern Tennessee with his father who has joined the Confederate army. A moving personal narrative in the form of a journal, this poem tells of one boy’s journey into war and its horrible climax at the Battle of Gettysburg.

Cover Art
The Red Badge of Courage - Stephen Crane
Call Number: PB FIC CRA
ISBN: 9781619491724
Publication Date: 2011-12-19
Henry Flemming, a private in the Union Army, runs away from the field of war. Afterwards the shame he feels at this act of cowardice ignites his desire to receive an injury in combat, a red badge of courage that will redeem him.

Cover Art
The River Between Us - Richard Peck
Call Number: FIC PEC
ISBN: 9780142403105
Publication Date: 2005-04-21
At the start of the Civil War two mysterious young women get off a boat in a small town in Southern Illinois and 15-year-old Tilly Pruitt’s mother takes them in. Who are they? Is the darker complexioned woman the other woman’s slave?

Cover Art
Soldier's Heart - Gary Paulsen
Call Number: FIC PAU
ISBN: 9780440228387
Publication Date: 2000-09-12
The story of the enlistment and dire service of the boy Charley Goddard in the first Minnesota volunteers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip