This is the "Home" page of the "Roman Forum" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Roman Forum  

A guide for fourth grade students researching ancient Rome.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2017 URL: http://gcschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=584632 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Roman Everyday Life

Cover Art
Roman Diary - Richard Platt; David Parkins (Illustrator)
Call Number: 937 PLA
ISBN: 0763634808
Publication Date: 2009-05-12
In this journal, a young girl who was captured by pirates and sold as a slave in Rome tells about her new life. Although she visits many important places in the city including the Senate and the Colosseum, she also tells about everyday Roman enjoyment of the baths, theater, and banquets.

Roman People - Sarah Howarth
Call Number: 937 HOW
ISBN: 1562946501
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Discusses the everyday life and concerns of thirteen people typical of the Roman Empire including citizen, emperor, mother, priest, centurion, surveyor, slave, shopkeeper, mosaic worker, tax collector, gladiator, Christian, and hostage.

Cover Art
Ancient Rome - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 937 JAM
ISBN: 0670844934
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
The customs and daily lives of the golden age of Roman civilization are revealed in stunning see-through cutaways. Topics include: the family, mansions and slums, baths, food and dining, Romans at work, trade and transport, religion and gods, chariots and gladiators, the theater and death and burial.

Cover Art
Ancient Rome - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Christi Graham (Photographer); Nick Nichols (Photographer)
Call Number: 937 JAM
ISBN: 0679807411
Publication Date: 1990-08-04
Beautifully illustrated with photographs of Roman artifacts, this book covers many topics including: Senators, citizens, subjects and slaves, the women of Rome, growing up, family life, house and home, the theater, a trip to the baths, a dinner party, a world of many gods, worship and sacrifice, and healing the sick.

Cover Art
The Ancient Romans - Allison Lassieur
Call Number: 937 LAS
ISBN: 0531123383
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
This book explores ancient Rome through its social structure. Topics include: The Lives of Roman Women, Priests and the Roman Religion, Working Class Romans, and Slaves and Slavery.

History of Art for Young People - H. W. Janson; Anthony F. Janson
Call Number: 709 JAN
ISBN: 0810934051
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
This book contains an extremely informative chapter on Roman art including a discussion of architecture, sculpture, and painting. Beautiful photographs illustrate every page.

The Art of the Etruscans - Glubock, Shirley
Call Number: 709.37
Publication Date: 1967
A handsome and authoritative introduction to the art of the Etruscans, people who lived in Italy 2500 years ago before the Romans rose to power. The frescoes, statues, and vases shown here (depicting gods, wrestlers, warriors, musicians, dancers) give the reader a fascinating glimpse into a vanished civilization. There is a whole page on the Wolf that became an iconic symbol of ancient Rome.

All Color Book of Roman Mythology - Croft, Peter
Call Number: 292 CRO
Publication Date: 1974
The myths and legends of Rome are stirringly told here and superbly illustrated with pictures of places, statues and art (much of it ancient, but some of it not so ancient) from many parts of Europe and North Africa

Cover Art
Women in Ancient Rome - Fiona MacDonald
Call Number: 305.4 MAC
ISBN: 0872265706
Publication Date: 2000-01-15
This book explores the roles of women in a family and at home in traditional activities such as food preparation and entertainment. It also follows women out into the world as they worked alongside their husbands in business and took part in public as well as private worship.

Sculpture - Mary-Jane Opie
Call Number: 730.9 OPI
ISBN: 156458495X
Publication Date: 1994-09-15
This informative book includes double page spreads on Imperial Rome and Bronze Casting.

Cover Art
Arts and Crafts of Ancient Rome - Ting Morris; Emma Young (Illustrator)
Call Number: 680 MOR
ISBN: 1583409130
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Describes Roman sculpture, reliefs, paintings, mosaics, and jewelry. This book includes step by step instructions for making a Gorgon head relief sculpture, a mosaic picture, a Roman vase, and a piece of Roman jewelry.

 

The City of Rome

Cover Art
The Ancient City - Peter Connolly; Hazel Dodge
Call Number: 930 CON
ISBN: 0195215826
Publication Date: 2000-05-18
Offers an examination of daily life, history and architecture of Athens and Rome. Splendid photography and diagrams.

Cover Art
Rome - Andrew Solway; Stephen Biesty (Illustrator)
Call Number: 937 BIE
ISBN: 0439455464
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Starting with a map of the entire city, this book contains cross sections and information on many important places in Rome including the Temple of Jupiter, the Senate House in the Roman Forum, the Colosseum, the Baths of Trajan, and the Circus Maximus.

The Colosseum - Peter Chrisp
Call Number: 937 CHR
ISBN: 0817249168
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
How the Colosseum was built and how it was used. This book is illustrated by many beautiful drawing and photographs. The last pages of the book contains a detailed timeline of the history of this amazing structure from 73 B.C. to 1900 A.D.

Cover Art
The Roman Colosseum - Elizabeth Mann; Michael Racz (Illustrator)
Call Number: 937 MAN
ISBN: 0965049337
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
This book interweaves the impressive story of the construction of this remarkable building and the sobering tale of the "games" that went on inside it. In doing so, it reveals an entire civilization in all its brilliance and brutality.

Cover Art
Rome Antics - David MacAulay (Illustrator)
Call Number: E MAC
ISBN: 0395822793
Publication Date: 1997-10-27
This book follows the flight of a wayward homing pigeon through the streets of Rome. We soar over sunbaked terra-cotta rooftops an dhurtle down narrow cobblestone streets. The pages of this topsy-turvy tour offer some of Rome's most magnificent architecture from the Colosseum to the Forum and from the Temple of Hercules to the Pantheon. This bird's eye view of the city give the reader a sense of how the ancient and modern city are intertwined.

Cover Art
Gladiator - Richard Watkins (Illustrator)
Call Number: 796.8 WAT
ISBN: 039582656X
Publication Date: 1997-09-29
Detailed information on the lives of gladiators including chapters on Gladiator Schools, Types of Gladiators, Animals in the Arena, The Amphitheater, The Sea Battles, The Gladiator in Society, A Day at the Games, The End of the Gladiators, and The Influence of Gladiators.

Cover Art
Building Big - David MacAulay
Call Number: 720 MAC
ISBN: 0395963311
Publication Date: 2000-10-24
Includes an extremely detailed and interesting chapter on the construction of the Pantheon.

Cover Art
Architecture - Neil Stevenson
Call Number: 720 STE
ISBN: 0789419653
Publication Date: 1997-09-22
Includes great chapters on the Colosseum and the Pantheon.

 

Outside the City

Cover Art
City - David MacAulay (Illustrator)
Call Number: 711 MAC
ISBN: 039519492X
Publication Date: 1974-09-04
The Romans were the masters of the art of city planning. The step by step process of constructing roads and bridges, the city wall, water and drainage systems, public areas such as the forum and market places, shops and private homes, public baths and entertainment centers is explained and illustrated with outstanding graphics.

Cover Art
Bodies from the Ash - James M. Deem
Call Number: 937 DEE
ISBN: 0618473084
Publication Date: 2005-10-24
Hundreds of years after the entire city of Pompeii and many of her inhabitants were utterly annihilated by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius, archaeological excavations began to unearth what had been buried under layers of volcanic rubble. This book, illustrated with many photographs, tells what the scientists found.

Cover Art
Pompeii - Mary Pope Osborne; Bonnie Christensen (Illustrator)
Call Number: 937 OSB
ISBN: 0375828893
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
This book presents the dramatic story of Pompeii's destruction and recovery.

Pompeii: Exploring a Roman Ghost Town - Ron Goor (Illustrator); Nancy Goor (Illustrator)
Call Number: 937 GOO
ISBN: 0690045158
Publication Date: 1986-11-01
Explains how the excavation of Pompeii helped scientists and historians learn about life in a typical town at the time of the Roman Empire. Temples, sports arenas, swimming pools, an advanced plumbing system and graffiti on the walls, were all a part of this once lively place.

Roman Places - Sarah Howarth
Call Number: 937 HOW
ISBN: 156294651X
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
This book contains information on the Roman countryside including short discussions of villas, vineyards, roads and shrines.

Secrets of Vesuvius - Sara C. Bisel
Call Number: 937 BIS
ISBN: 0590438506
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
Uses archeological findings to imagine the life of the inhabitants of Herculaneum in the final days before Vesuvius erupted in 79 A.D.

Cover Art
The Buried City of Pompeii - Shelley Tanaka; Greg Ruhl (Illustrator)
Call Number: 937 TAN
ISBN: 0786802855
Publication Date: 1997-10-15
With fascinating text and splendid, accurate illustrations, this book recreates the lost world Pompeii and (based on archaeological detective work) describes how Eros the steward (whose skeleton was found in a buried house) might have lived and how he came to die in his master's house. This book also give a good sense of everyday life outside the city of Rome itself.

 

Roman Military

The Roman Army - Peter Connolly
Call Number: 937 CON
ISBN: 0382069102
This book provides an account of the Roman Army during three critically important periods: the Macedonian campaign when Rome was a Republic, Caesar's conquest of northern Europe, and the early years of the Empire. It covers many topics including the Legions, Military Camps, Battles, Armor and Equipment, War Galleys, Military Engineering, Siege Tactics, and the Praetorian Guard.

A Roman Soldier - Giovanni Caselli
Call Number: 355 CAS
ISBN: 0872261069
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Presents the story of a young auxiliary soldier at a fortress on Hadrian's Wall, depicting life in the Roman Army in the third century A.D.

Roman Forts - Margaret Mulvihill
Call Number: 355.7 MUL
ISBN: 0531172015
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
When a new area came under Roman control, forts of wood and stone were built. These building became the center of army life and were bases from which soldiers could patrol far frontiers and roads, and within which they could have permanent winter quarters.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip