This is the "Home" page of the "Foundations of Modern Europe" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Foundations of Modern Europe  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://gcschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=643543 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

World War I General Archives

  • World War I Document Archive
    Documenting events from before Sarajevo until after Versailles. Has many documents. (pre-1914 - post-1918; translations and transcriptions)
  • World War I
    A collection of primary documents from the Internet Modern History Sourcebook. (1914-1918; transcriptions and translations)
  • Documents of World War I
    Digital primary documents assembled at Mount Holyoke College. (1914-1919; translations)
  • Documents of the Interwar Period
    Digital primary documents assembled at Mount Holyoke College. (1918-1941; translations)

Great Britain

Women and World War I

Germany

  • Axis History in Germany in WWI Forum
    This forum is read by experienced and knowledgeable researchers who know many important details. Post your Germany in WWI questions here and answers will come in a few hours.
  • FirstWorldWar.com
    Germany in WWI articles listed on a single page for easy access.
  • Center for Jewish History
    Including online albums, legal documents, maps, books, oral histories, posters and finding aids.
    Combining resources of a number of Jewish societies and institutes. (17th-20th centuries; German, English and other facsimiles)
  • Compact Memory: Internetarchiv jüdischer Periodika
    Access to facsimiles of German-Jewish periodicals from the Enlightenment until the Third Reich.
    Digitized by various German institutions with support of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft.
    (18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries; facsimiles and some explanatory comments)
  • Leo Baeck Institute: Digibaeck
    Gateway to the institute's digital collection, artifacts documenting German-speaking Jewry in the modern era. Basic and advanced search capabilities, along with browse options. (16th - 21st centuries; archival materials, memoirs and manuscripts, art and objects, books and periodicals, photographs, and audio recordings).
  • Judaica Sammlung Frankfurt
    Project by the Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main which aims to digitise the library's complete Hebraica and Judaica collection. Around 18.000 titles comprising the complete literature of the so-called Wissenschaft des Judentums. (late 19th - early 20th centuries; PDF format facsimiles and annotations)
  • Digitale Sammlungen – Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Darmstadt
    Digital library of the Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Darmstadt, offering online access to a number of different collections including books, journals, manuscripts, newspapers and maps. (17th - early 20th centuries; facsimiles)
  • Die Grenzboten: Zeitschrift für Politik, Literatur und Kunst
    One of the premiere journals of the 19th and early 20th centuries for politics, literature and art (and culture in general). The articles contain many direct contemporaneous observations that can be considered primary evidence of the age. Digitized by the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Bremen. (1841-1922; fully searchable database with page facsimiles and underlying transcriptions).
  • Deutsche Geschichte in Dokumenten und Bildern: Reichsgründung: Bismarcks Deutschland
    German History in Documents and Images: Forging an Empire: Bismarckian Germany
    compiled by the German Historical Institute in Washington, D.C. (1866-1890; images, maps, German transcriptions and English translations)
  • Deutsche Geschichte in Dokumenten und Bildern: Das Wilhelminische Kaiserreich und der Erste Weltkrieg
    German History in Documents and Images: Wilhelmine Germany and the First World War (1890-1918)
    compiled by the German Historical Institute in Washington, D.C. (1890-1918); images, maps, German transcriptions and English translations)
  • Deutsche Geschichte in Dokumenten und Bildern: Die Weimarer Republik (1918/19-1933)
    German History in Documents and Images: Weimar Germany (1918/19-1933)
    Compiled by the German Historical Institute in Washington, D.C. (1500-1648; images, maps, German transcriptions and English translations)
  • Digitales Bildarchiv des Bundesarchivs
    Growing collection of digitized images from among the 11 million images in the Federal Archive. Searchable by multiple access points or browsable by subject. (19th-20th centuries; image database)
  • "Kaiserreich 1871 - 1918 " texts
    Includes primary documents in translation from Otto von Bismarck, Heinrich Class, Gen. Friedrich von Bernhardi, Adolf Hitler, Helmuth von Moltke, Rosa Luxemburg, Kaiser Wilhelm II; of the Internationale and of a Berliner Illustrierte readers' poll. (1880-1925; translations)
  • "Deutsches Reich"
    The German Empire as represented in contemporary postcards, photos, stamps and textual documents.
    (1871-1918; facsimiles and transcriptions)
  • The Triple Alliance
    Treaty between Austria-Hungary, Germany, and Italy. Includes additional declarations from each country. (May 20-28, 1882; English transcription)
  • German Colonies Visualized
    Over 50,000 images from German colonies. A digitization project of the library of the Deutsche Kolonialgesellschaft of the Stadt- und Universitäsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main. (19th -20th centuries; photo images searchable by database)
  • Germany and its Colonies: Travels through the empire and its overseas possessions
    Illustrated book reflecting German national pride in the early 20th century. (1902; facsimile book and images)
  • "Deutsche Schutzgebiete"
    Colonies of the German Empire as represented in contemporary postcards, photos, stamps and textual documents. (1871-1918; facsimiles and transcriptions)
  • "Die Kaiserliche Marine"
    The German Imperial Navy as represented in contemporary postcards, photos, stamps and textual documents. (1871-1918; facsimiles and transcriptions)
  • "Imperialismus" from PSM - Data: Geschichte.
    Click on "P" within a given chronology for primary source documents. (German transcriptions with German and English translations)
  • Meyers Konversations-Lexikon
    Searchable German encyclopedia as a digital copy of the 1888 edition. (Facsimiles)
  • Gedächtnis der Nation - The Nation's Memory
    A large collection of video eye-witness testimonies of German history, 20th century to the present.
    Divided into three broad categories: Ereignisse (Events); Themen (Subjects) and Jahrhundertzeugen (centenarian witnesses). (1910-present; video files of witness testimonies)
  • The German White Book
    "Germany's Reasons for War with Russia: "How Russia and her Ruler betrayed Germany's confidence and thereby made the European War." (1914; English translations)
  • Feldzeitungen aus dem 1. Weltkrieg - online
    Newspapers for German soldiers at the front during WWI. Digitized by Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg.
    (1914-1918; German facsimiles)
  • U-boats in WWI (Kaiserliche Marine)
    See here for u-boats in WWII (1914-1918; English)
  • Allied Armistice Terms
    (11 November 1918; English transcription)
  • Deutschlandlied
    German National Anthem adopted 1922, though it was written earlier. (German with English translation; 1841)
  • Die Reichstagsprotokolle 1918-1942
    Session Proceedings of the Reichstag from the Treaty of Versailles to the begin of World War II:
    A digitization project of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (1918-1942; German transcriptions) NB: Protokolle des Reichstags (1867-1918) are also available.
  • Akten der Reichskanzlei. Weimarer Republik
    Documents of the Reich Chancellery of the Weimar Republic. 23 digitized volumes of the Cabinets from Scheidemann to Schleicher. (1919-1933; transcriptions with linked Federal Archive apparatus)
  • WWI Propaganda Posters
    (1914-1918; images, German facsimiles)
  • Akten zur deutschen Auswärtigen Politik 1918-1945
    Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945. Tens of thousands of searchable German foreign policy communications and documents from the Weimar Republic and Third Reich. 50 volumes published by Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht. (1918-1945; facsimile page images with downloadable PDF files)
  • Pre-WWII German Maps
    Topographic maps at 1:25,000 scale from Germany of 1930 borders, including parts of what is now Poland
    From BYU digital collections. (1930; searchable or browsable access to facsimile maps)
  • "Weimarer Republik" from PSM - Data: Geschichte.
    Click on "P" within a given chronology for primary source documents. (German transcriptions with German and English translations)
  • "Weimarer Republik" in dokumentArchiv.de
    Documents from the Weimar Republic (1918-1933; German transcriptions)
  • Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in London: Commemorating the First World War
    From the website: “2014 marks the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of World War I. Here you can find a collection of informative websites about events in Germany commemorating the First World War, as well as speeches and articles by German politicians.”
  • Ancestry.com: Bavaria, Germany, WWI Personnel Rosters, 1914-1918
    These records are in German. For best results, you should search using German words and location spellings.
  • Man & Machine: The German Soldier in WWI
    Man & Machine: The German Soldier in WWI
    In 2010, the special exhibition Man and Machine: The German Soldier in World War I offered rare insight into the Great War by sharing stories from the German viewpoint.
  • Bundesarchiv: German Reich: Kaiserreich (1871-1918) including North German Confederation (1867-1871)
    You will find further information on the reference pages Official printed archives, Pictures and posters, Film, Maps, plans and technical drawings, Military bodies and associations, Personal papers and Collections.

Belgium

  • In Flanders Field Museum
    From the website: “The In Flanders Fields Museum presents the story of the First World War in the West Flanders front region. It is located in the renovated Cloth Halls of Ypres, an important symbol of wartime hardship and later recovery.”
  • WWI - Westhoek
    English version of French website with articles about Belgian, French, German and British armies and civlians in WWI.

Canada

  • Canadian War Museum - Canada and the First World War
    This focuses on the volunteer force that fought for the Allies.
  • Canadian War Museum - Canvas of War
    Paintings from the museum’s art collection.
  • Canadian War Museum - Propaganda
    Posters and other media from the museum’s collection.
  • Canadian War Museum - Vimy Ridge
    From the website: “Many historians and writers consider the Canadian victory at Vimy a defining moment for Canada, when the country emerged from under the shadow of Britain and felt capable of greatness. Canadian troops also earned a reputation as formidable, effective troops because of the stunning success. But it was a victory at a terrible cost, with more than 10,000 killed and wounded.”
  • Canadian War Museum - Canada's Naval History
    Learn more about Canada's naval history since 1910 through hundreds of objects and images drawn from the collections of the Canadian War Museum and its partners. Most are available on-line here for the first time, and each provides a unique glimpse into the past.

India

  • Commonwealth Graves Commission - Forever India
    From the website: “More than 160,000 servicemen and women from Undivided India, who sacrificed their lives in the First and the Second World Wars, are commemorated by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission. This website explores the importance of their contribution. By telling their stories, our belief is that they will always be remembered and honoured.

New Zealand/Australia

  • National Archives of New Zealand and Australia
    From the website: “The National Archives of Australia has developed this innovative website in partnership with Archives New Zealand as a gift to both nations for the centenary of World War I.”
  • WAACs at War
    From the website: “In 1917, as the First World War (1914-18) drained Britain's manpower, an official force of women soldiers embarked for France in uniform for the first time. The Women's Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC) were formed to free up valuable and experienced soldiers from the rear areas for front line service. As part of the mobilisation of the whole country this milestone in the push for equal rights formed the basis for women’s service in the British Army to this day.”
  • Auckland Cenotaph Database
    From the website: “Search for biographical and service details for over 115,000 New Zealand service men and women from the 19th century till today and especially from World War One and World War Two.”

United States

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip